refaitalian.blogg.se

Radio silence human fall flat
Radio silence human fall flat




radio silence human fall flat

The OSHA has reported peak noise levels in theatres as high as 133.9 decibels.

#Radio silence human fall flat movie#

A 2014 article in the journal Canadian Audiologist quotes a study by the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration that said while 85 decibels used to be the practical limit (above this level, analog sound is distorted), the advent of digital sound meant that the volume in movie theatres can easily surpass 85 decibels with no distortion. Noise pollution isn't just annoyingĪ bit of online research reveals that there are no regulations when it comes to how loud movie theatres can play these items. The volume there reaches painfully loud levels, especially when it comes to ads and movie trailers. Movie theatres take the problem to a dangerous level. It's not just restaurants and retail stores that are problematic. Noise at pro sports games can cause long-term hearing loss.Music was always part of my life and for the most part I felt like the louder, the better. Every time my brother was out, I snuck into his room to blast Tragically Hip and Blue Rodeo on his stereo (sorry, bro), all the better to get the full concert effect. I toted my Walkman all over my town, cranking Wham! and Billy Idol as loud as I could without my parents giving me the stinkeye. I used to love listening to bands at the bar stood right beside the speakers without a thought for my poor ears. It seems as the years pass by, the less tolerance I have for music I can't comfortably talk over. I know that many people complain about loud music as they get older.

radio silence human fall flat

I'm not sure I could hear a cannon going off over the "background music" that's now the standard at my local McDonald's restaurant.īefore you say anything, I'll address the elephant in the room: yes, I'm but a stone's throw from the half-century mark of my life. Can anybody tell me why we are so afraid of silence nowadays?įorget the sound of a pin dropping.






Radio silence human fall flat